Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One of the most frightening of all thoughts I’ve ever considered was God giving up on me.  We hear it preached to us all the time God will not give up on you, but the truth of the matter is, He does!  How is this possible?

We know by reading Scripture there will come a time when He says, “Let him that is filthy, let him be filthy still”.  That’s it in a nutshell.  It doesn’t need much more explanation than this.  God will stop trying to reach you when you have placed yourself beyond His reach.  When you have decided there is nothing more to be accomplished in your life, when you have decided this is what you will be and do, then God will honor your request to be simply left alone.  It is a sad time.  However, God still tries one more time! 

When I was in my addiction, I told God to leave me alone.  I’m thankful He didn’t listen and this is the reason why:  He could see where I couldn’t   He could see me sitting at this table today typing out this day’s devotional.  I couldn’t   He could see me living in Atlanta enjoying life and living without addiction.  I couldn’t   He could see me surrounded by friends and loved ones and having good relations.  I couldn’t   He could see all of this when I couldn’t so He wouldn’t listen to me and eventually brought it all about to where I am glad He ignored my plea.  However, there are those who have crossed over and God cannot any longer see anything positive in their life and has left them alone to live miserable lives, without Him, until they are lost forever.  Sadly, many of them don’t even know it!

What about you?  Where is your place in this tug-of-war?  Has God given up on you or does He have a plan for your life which you are willing to live joyfully?

 

No one will be lost who has decided to be saved, even if you don’t know it right now.

