Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was not finished with the conversation I was having as I was finishing with work.  So, I took a room for what would be only for an hour.  I worked at a hotel.  I still was not finished in time to be able to catch the bus, so I had another hour to wait.  I had breakfast and caught the next bus.  When I arrived home, there was yet additional people online I needed to speak with and ended up chatting with them while watching the Virginia College shooting tragedy.  I took a sleep aid, not a full dosage because I would not have adequate time to sleep it off, just time for a four hour nap before having to get up and head for work where it would start all over again.

I lay in bed and sat straight up!  I recognized the symptoms of addiction.  I sat in front of the pc, after a short prayer, and began to uninstall two of the chat services out of the five I used.  Then the ones remaining, I reduced the amount of people on my list, only keeping the precious few I developed friendships with.  I was then able to not only sleep peacefully but later at work I was able to accomplish goals I had set previously for myself because I didn’t have the distraction as before.

Whether online sexual chatting, drugs, sex, alcohol, shopping, etc., an addiction is an addiction and it needs to be conquered in whatever form it happens to have a hold on you.  The one important and good thing I had was the experience to recognize when I was addicted.  When you’re not able to sleep as you should, or shop for necessary items like groceries and it’s not because you don’t have money such as in the case of a substance abuse, but lack of time because of inappropriate, compulsive chatting online, then you need to put into practice the same techniques used for any addiction of your past.  Just “turn it off”!

 

The beautiful gift of having had an addiction is the experience learned, and the prevention of additional ones which are very subtle in their first appearance.

