Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Forgiving one’s self is perhaps the most powerful weapon you could ever have to overcome addiction.

When I was discovered in an act of addiction, I tried to make it seem it was someone who resembled me.  I didn’t feel good about what I was doing, but I needed to survive.  We were lined up and the question was put to us who it was.  I had, rather, was given the opportunity to clear the air.  I stepped forward, and in tears, confessed the act and asked forgiveness of the brother I tried to pass on my problem, and the house to forgive me for involving them.  Arms were soon wrapped around me in love and brotherhood, and I didn’t worry anymore about what consequences I might have to suffer later, the fact is, I was alright with those who were with me in the struggle against addiction.  The addiction lost is power and I could begin living in freedom again.

How much time is wasted simply because we do not admit our mistakes?  Why do we want to continue holding onto the guilt when we could be freed?  It is by letting go of guilt we begin to experience freedom.  It is only by admission we can receive help.  The faster we learn this principle the sooner we can be placed in the position of helping others lose their hold on guilt because we understand the fears associated with it.  We can reach out to them, in arms of love, letting them know its okay and welcome the freedom which has been waiting for them all this time.  No ruby slippers to click three times as Dorothy in the “Wizard of Oz”.  First, admit what we have done wrong and then receive the removal of guilt.

No one mentioned when I first began addiction, how hard it would be.  Struggling with drugs was difficult, but struggling worse was within me.

By admitting my pain, suffering, guilt, shame and fear; then began my freedom, which made it all worthwhile to bear.

