Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

As I am doing my own personal devotions I am reading about Christ, prior to His death, how He rode an ass into Jerusalem.  The text goes on to say how He became “poor” for our sake.   For the first time I had to acknowledge, just as Jesus depended upon alms in order to live although He could have called angels to provide for Him, even to borrow the ass upon which He rode, I have been made like Him in this respect.  From my previous riches and comfort of life, I, too, have had to become poor, depending upon the goodness of my friends, in order to acknowledge who He is to me and the blessings He daily provides.  “I became poor.”

I can honestly say I do not like being in this state but if it helps me to understanding how to depend upon God for my living, and this is the method He is using to draw me closer to Him, then I must find contentment, believing and trusting, He knows what is best for me.  We’re told riches come with their problems and I know it, too, when things are going so well, I didn’t pray as often as I pray now.  I didn’t depend upon God then as I do now, so is being “poor” worth it?  Yes it is.  We read God will provide even your daily bread, but how will we know this as a fact in our life unless we’re in straits and cannot provide for ourselves, allowing Him to fulfill the promise we read so easily and take for granted?  So, “I became poor” and now know it to be true.

There are few words, which are positive, which could be said for addiction; but, it is “through” addiction I have come to know God so much better than those days of affluence.  If Christ could go through the “Cross Experience” for me, can I not go through the “Addiction Experience” for Him?  It has been worth becoming “poor” so I might enjoy the riches of being with Him in glory.

 

The Cross and Addiction, both are a struggle, but if they have a purpose of bringing us closer to each other, and God, then it is worth it.

