Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This devotional was inspired by my God-daughter, Vikki, who shared with her mother in a letter from her prison cell due to substance abuse:  “Where would God put His most precious diamonds?  Where we would!  We would lock them up and put them away, just like God did with me!”

This is such a profound thought when you think for a moment of what God does for some of us.  He puts us away, a “diamond in the rough” so we’re able to mix with others who are polishing us so when we came from being locked away, we would shine, shimmer and reflect the light of His love toward us.  Many of us would have only been given second chances from prison.  There are so many who fail to reach prison and die so we should count it a privilege if we can be placed, for our own good and for that of others, to spend quality time with God in prison, especially if we’ve failed to do so in our churches.

God is giving each of us an opportunity of meeting Him so we might be saved.  God challenged me in September of 2002 and asked if I were serious enough to want to quit my own addiction, would it be okay if He sent me to prison.  On His second attempt to reach me with the same question, I agreed it would be.  A week later, I would find myself housed in federal lockup for 26 months.  When the door was finally opened and I was set free, I was “freed” from the addictions that went inside with me.

The only shame of going to prison is if you come out the same way you went in! 

 

Thank you, Godfather, for being part of my story.

Vikki Blossom

 

You’re welcome, God-daughter.  And, I love you!

Bro. Roy


Note: Because of this particular post and moment of inspiration, during my last incarceration 2010-13 I wrote a book entitled, “God’s Gems” which gives inmates an idea of how to behave and conduct themselves while in prison believing we are “God’s Gems” merely being polished, clean and stored for later shining to others.  It can be read on my website.  Feel free to download and/or copy and print for your loved ones who are incarcerated.

