Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Although officially it doesn’t end until Labor Day cookouts next weekend, but the true fact is, when August is finished, so is Summer, and together we’ve pushed ahead to this point, and it doesn’t matter if you have fallen off as long as you’ve gotten back on and we’ve been riding together ever since.  Now the hot days and nights are just about finished, we’ll have a less desire to want to be, “out there” and this is good.  Even the weather will cooperate as we continue our fight against addiction and urges which seem sometimes never to end.  But they do.

In my years of addiction, I learned to hate Summer.  I learned to hate being thirsty and nowhere to quench my thirst.  I learned to hate smelling and not having hygiene products or place to accommodate me.  I learned to hate Summer when I felt hopelessness and tried to take my life on three occasions.  Now, it’s time to get rid of the hate and recognize it had nothing really to do with the weather as much as it had to do with me.

As we say good-bye to the summer heat and madness of being, “out there”, let’s come to understand summers will not stop but we do.  No longer will it hold anything on us as we continue to enjoy life and all it has to offer.

Remember the days of the past for what they were, in the past and not our future.

